Yourself, Understood


Compassion is the sympathetic consciousness that other people are suffering, often with a profound desire to help them alleviate the suffering.

So, the most intimate meaning of this consciousness is to recognize the suffering of others and then take concrete action to help them. Compassion represents and includes a tangible, real, active expression of love for those who are suffering.

Compassion involves opening our hearts, minds, and souls to share the same suffering and experiencing the same feelings of people who are affected by any sort of distress, with the conscious determination, the commitment to help alleviate and prevent it.
An act of compassion is defined by its concrete helpfulness, and it is related to one's ability and willingness of identifying with another person because sympathizing with others is possible among different countries, cultures, locations.

His Holiness Tenzin Gyatso, XIV Dalai Lama says that "compassion is a necessity, not a luxury" and that "it is a question of human survival", and that "compassion is the spurce of happiness".

Typical components of compassion are, according to Pommer (2010):
  • Sensitivity
  • Sympathy
  • Empathy
  • Motivation/Caring
  • Distress Tolerance
  • Non-Judgemental approach

It is often accompanied by altruism, being open-hearted, pity, concern, condolence, sensitivity, tenderness, patience, wisdom, kindness, perseverance, and involvement.
Seven Steps and Three Pillars
Compassion is a fundamental part of the Yourself, Understood 3 pillars and 7 steps, composed by awareness, compassion, and commitment, together with the seven steps:
  • Discover who you really are and what you really want
  • Relax, calm, and love yourself
  • Learn how to improve
  • Set up realistic goals and measurable plans
  • Build up resilience and grit
  • Develop your new mindsets, attitudes, and behaviors
  • Yourself, Understood